• Other Languages

Frequently Ask Question

Question 1: What is the  background for the establishment the Department of Environment (DOE) ?


Department of Environment (DOE) was originally created as Environment Division under the Ministry of Local Government and Environment on 15 April 1975. Environment Division was then placed under the Ministry of Science, Technology and Environment in March 1976. Based on the importance of environmental protection and conservation, on 1 September 1983, the Environment Division has been upgraded to a Department known as the Department of Environment. On March 2004, DOE was then placed under the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment. The establishment of Department of Environment is based on the Environmental Quality Act, 1974 which was enacted in March 1974 and came into force on 15 April 1975.

Question 2: What is the core business of DOE ?


The main function of the DOE is to prevent, eliminate, control pollution and improve the environment, consistent with the purposes of the Environmental Quality Act 1974 and the regulations thereunder. DOE is also responsible for the implementation of the resolutions decided by the conventions of the international environment such as Vienna Convention for the protection of the Ozone Layer1985, Montreal Protocol on Substances That Deplete the Ozone Layer, 1987, the Basel Convention on the Trans boundary Movement of Hazardous Waste and Their Disposal Act 1989 and other areas while the success of programs of bilateral cooperation and multilateral cooperation between Indonesia, Singapore and other ASEAN countries on environmental management. Core services implemented by the Department of the Headquarters and DOE offices and branches. Refer DOE’s core services for more information.

Question 3: What is DOE’s vision ?


Environmental Conservation for the Well-being of the People.

Question 4: What is DOE’s mission?


To ensure sustainable development in the process of nation building.

Question 5: How many divisions/units are there under DOE (HQ) ?


There are 11 main divisions/units under DOE as follows:

  • Administrative & Finance Division
  • Enforcement Division
  • Hazardous Substances Division
  • Air Division
  • Water & Marine Division
  • Assessment Division
  • Strategic Communication Division
  • Information Technology Division
  • Environment Institute of Malaysia
  • Green Industri Unit
  • Legal Unit

Question 6: How can we reach DOE in the event we would like to offer some feedback, suggestions or to lodge complaints?


Complaints pertaining to the environmental pollution can be made via mail, phone-call or submitted directly to the relevant Department of Environment State Office’s. DOE’s HQ Control Room in Putrajaya operates 24 hours.”

Department of Environment
Ministry of Environment and Water
Level 1 – 4, Podium 2 & 3, Wisma Sumber Asli
No.25, Persiaran Perdana, Precint 4
Federal Government Administrative Centre
62574 Putrajaya, Malaysia.

Complaints Line: 03-8889 1972
Hotline: 1-800-88-2727
General Line: (Request information & Contact DOE Staff)
Telephone: 03-8871 2000 / 2200
Fax: 03-8889 1973/75

  1. Director General Office 
    Fax : 03-8889 1036
  2. Deputy Director General (Operational) Office 
    Fax : 03-8889 4020
  3. Deputy Director General (Development) Office 
    Fax : 03-8889 1039
Best viewed using Internet Explorer 11+, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome and Safari with resolution 1280x768 pixels and above.
Last Updated:

January 17, 2022 @ 8:21 am

DOE Leaf