ASEAN Minister on Environment (AMME)

The institutional framework of the ASEAN cooperation on environment consists of the ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on the Environment (AMME), ASEAN Senior Officials on the Environment (ASOEN), and 7 subsidiary bodies / working groups, following the identified strategic priorities:

  • ASEAN Working Group on Climate Change (AWGCC),
  • ASEAN Working Group on Chemicals and Waste (AWGCW)
  • ASEAN Working Group on Coastal and Marine Environment (AWGCME)
  • ASEAN Working Group on Environmental Education (AWGEE)
  • ASEAN Working Group on Environmentally Sustainable Cities (AWGESC),
  • ASEAN Working Group on Natural Resources and Biodiversity (AWGNCB)
  • ASEAN Working Group on Water Resources Management (AWGWRM).

ASEAN has since 1977 cooperated closely in promoting environmental cooperation among its member states. ASEAN cooperation on environment is currently guided by the ASCC Blueprint 2025 which envisions ‘an ASEAN Community that engages and benefits the peoples and is inclusive, sustainable, resilient, and dynamic’. Guided by the Vision, the ASEAN cooperation on environment particularly focuses on the following key result areas under the characteristic ‘Sustainable’ of the ASCC Blueprint 2025.


  • Conservation and Sustainable Management of Biodiversity and Natural Resources
  • Environmentally Sustainable Cities
  • Sustainable Climate
  • Sustainable Consumption and Production


An ASEAN strategic plan on environment is currently being developed to translate the ASCC Blueprint 2025 into a more detailed plan of actions which shall serve as a guiding document for ASEAN cooperation on environment until 2025. Seven strategic priorities have been identified under the strategic plan:

  1. Nature conservation and biodiversity
  2. Coastal and marine environment
  3. Water resources management
  4. Environmentally sustainable cities
  5. Climate change
  6. Chemicals and waste
  7. Environmental education and sustainable consumption and production